Review of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Spoilers!)

** spoiler alert ** When I heard that Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was going to be in script form, I was thinking Shakespeare. I wasn’t expecting novel no-no’s in the stage direction like “There’s a lot of emotion here.” If there’s emotion, it should be obvious from the dialogue.

That said, I liked the storyline, and it was nice to feel like I was back at Hogwarts. I did think the tension between Harry and his son Albus was a bit inauthentic. Would Harry really tell his son “Sometimes I wish you weren’t my son?” I think Harry would have grown up a little more sensitive than that. And Ron was like a caricature of himself. I was also really hoping for a better closure to the story with Cedric’s dad. I’d have liked to see something good happen to him or at least some more meaningful dialogue. Maybe it will seem to have more depth on stage.

I gave the book 4 out of 5 stars, but here I am saying only negative things about it. That’s because the bar is set so high in Potter World, I guess. I loved being back at Hogwarts, I thought Hermione’s character was spot on, and I did feel the urgency of Albus and Scorpius’s adventure. I just missed Rowling’s writing and the usual Potter complexity.

Leave a Reply

