4 Christian Arguments for Trump (and why I think they’re wrong)

Let me introduce myself. I am the author of “Seeking First His Kingdom: 61 Days of Worry-free Devotions.” I say this not to claim authority on the Bible (anyone can write a book) but to convince you that God and His Word are my highest priority.

During the primaries, most Christians were united in their lack of support for Donald Trump. Now that Trump is the Republican candidate, I’ve seen many Christians, including pastors, on social media lamenting that they cannot in good conscience vote for him. They are truly agonizing over their decision.

And I’ve seen a few Christians trying to rationalize voting for Trump. I’ve lumped their rationalizations into four categories, which I will attempt to address here.

1. Maybe God Knows We Need a Dirty, Shrewd Businessman Right Now

I really can’t believe that there was a widely shared blog post with this opinion. After decades of claiming that people should vote Republican because the Republican candidate was “more Christian,” you suddenly think that maybe Christianness is not so important after all? Remember all those Old Testament Israelites who had bad things happen to their nation when they started following idols and good things happen when they followed God? They didn’t have bad things happen because they failed to follow a self-proclaimed business tycoon or because they failed to fear the right kind of people. Do not be fooled.

The reason this blog probably gained some ground is because Donald Trump could not come up with a single Bible verse when asked, whereas Hillary, a Methodist, led a Bible study at one point. This is a big problem for people who have long equated Christianity with the Republican party.

2. At Least He’s Better Than Hillary

Of all the accusations against Hillary, only one has been proven true. She used a private server when she wasn’t supposed to. She acknowledged it and apologized. (Have all the other people in Washington who did the same thing apologized, I wonder? Notice that Colin Powell “didn’t remember” telling Hillary to do it and then it turned out that he had?) Things that have not been proven true or indeed been proven false: Clinton Foundation scandals, lying to the FBI, knowingly sending classified information over her private server, causing the Benghazi deaths, participating in unfair actions within the party to beat Sanders, and there are probably a few more I’m forgetting. Please research the claims! Even silly claims like “stealing from the White House” turn out to be similar to what other first ladies including Nancy Reagan have done: thinking gifts were to her personally, moving out with them, and returning them when the White House told her they were not personal gifts (which many things are).

On the other hand, we have a man who loves money, insults POW’s, claims his sacrifices are similar to the sacrifices of parents who lost a child in war, makes fun of people with disabilities, denounces entire ethnicities, objectifies women (my favorite is when he told Brande Roderick on national television that she’d be a pretty picture down on her knees), is probably going to owe a lot of people money for his “university” and contractor fees, and hey, if you’re going to blame Hillary for things that are unproven, why not blame Trump for the rape of a 13-year-old that he’s been accused of? He IS supposedly friends with a registered sex offender whose party he was supposedly at, after all. Looks pretty sketchy. And he did say he’d date his daughter if she weren’t his daughter. I don’t know, I just kind of have a feeling, much as you might have a feeling that Hillary is guilty of the things she hasn’t been proven guilty of. Even without the rape, to suggest that Hillary is somehow a worse candidate than Donald Trump is outrageous. It’s insulting to women and non-whites and veterans and anyone who cares about them. You know who cares about them? Jesus.

3. The Bible Says Women Shouldn’t Be Leaders

There’s a woman named Deborah in the Bible, and there’s an insidious lie about her. I don’t know where it came from or why it persists. Before Israel had kings, it had judges. Of all the judges in the book Judges, only one was a woman. Once when I was debating about women in leadership with a woman from my church who thought that women shouldn’t be in leadership in the church, I brought up Deborah, and my friend said something like, “But she was only a judge because no man could be found to do it.” This is a lie. Here’s what the Bible says about Deborah becoming judge. “Now Deborah, a prophetess, the wife of Lappidoth, was judging Israel at the time.” Absolutely no mention of why she was judge.

Was she a good judge? Apparently so. Her people won a battle and “the land was undisturbed for forty years.”

Then there’s the pesky message from Paul in his letter to Timothy. “But I do not allow a woman to teach or exercise authority over a man.” It’s one of my least favorite verses, and I have to admit that I enjoy telling myself that God’s calling of Deborah to be judge over Israel outweighs one sentence from one guy who was talking not about a nation, but about church leadership. Also, Paul says “I do not allow.” Well that’s nice for you, Paul. I do.

If you think I am too flippant with Paul’s words, then please skip down a couple verses to where he says that men in leadership in the church should be gentle, uncontentious, respectable, free from the love of money, not double-tongued… Please don’t apply Paul’s letter to Hillary and not to Donald.

And ask yourself, have you ever voted for a woman for senator or governor?

4. Supreme Court Appointments

I can honestly see your point about Supreme Court nominations. Everyone knows their importance. However, I have two problems with voting for Trump based on this alone.

1. Having more liberal justices, while it may have a pretty big effect, will in my opinion pale in comparison to the damage that Trump could do as president.

2. Donald Trump is neither truly conservative nor honest. I am not sure he would come through with conservative nominations.

(and a third point that I wish I’d added here before the election is that if you want pro-life justices, be aware that abortion numbers are BACK DOWN to pre Roe v Wade numbers due to education and birth control availability.)

I love you, brothers and sisters, and I love our country. Please tell me where I am wrong in my four points. I will not respond to comments, but I will read and give them serious thought if they are written with respect. But if you have figured out while reading this that you truly put anti-Democrat agenda above following God, please, for the love of heaven, just admit it. Don’t forget to vote, and let’s remember that we hope to meet Hillary, Donald, AND other voters in heaven and speak accordingly.

6 thoughts on “4 Christian Arguments for Trump (and why I think they’re wrong)

  1. Thanks for your thoughts!! Here is the article that best describes why I am voting for Trump:
    “What Should Christians Consider When Deciding Whom To Vote For?”
    by Dutch Sheets, Dallas, TX

    America is in a fight for her destiny. Our upcoming presidential election is about more than which personality or political party we prefer. A well-known Christian author has written a well-circulated blog suggesting Christians shouldn’t vote for Donald Trump. His reasons center around the poor witness and example of Christianity he believes Trump has demonstrated, and his fears that this might continue, should he be elected. (As you may know, Trump professes to be a Christian.)

    Others, even major Republican leaders, have also refused to support Trump on the basis of “principle.” Many good and sincere people are struggling to decide where they stand on this important decision. Though we cannot, as a non-profit ministry, endorse a candidate, I do have some thoughts that may help as you think and pray about your choice for President.

    1) Firstly, like the aforementioned Christian author, I passionately desire to have a God-honoring, Christian President; and obviously, I too would prefer one that exemplifies Christian principles.

    2) I, also, have been appalled by some of Trump’s rude, mean-spirited, and even vicious attacks on others; I’ve also been disappointed at times by the pride I’ve seen in him.

    3) I am as suspicious as anyone when the timing of a person’s “conversion” to Christ occurs when it is conveniently needed, whether it be prior to an election or when going before a judge; and I, too, am always looking for the fruit such a conversion should begin to manifest.

    4) I do not agree with all of Trump’s positions.

    But here’s where I differ with some Christians: whether or not a person speaks kindly, would provide an appropriate Christian witness or, frankly, even professes to be a Believer—though, again, this would always be my preference—are not my primary litmus tests for presidential candidates or important positions of national leadership. I’m glad General George Patton helped save the world during World War II, foul mouth and all.

    Like all of us, I’ve known many individuals I would thoroughly trust in leadership or government who did not profess to be a Christian. And, on the other hand, I’ve known many professing Christians whom I would NEVER trust to govern.

    I fear that sometimes we Christians insert the same religious mindset into elections that has divided the Church for centuries: if one’s theologies and religious standards don’t agree with ours, we refuse to walk or work together. It seems as though many Christians have the mistaken belief that partnering or working with someone means we agree with and support everything they believe. How absurd…and how costly.

    As an example, millions of Christians in the last presidential election refused to vote for Governor Romney because he was a Mormon. Their Christian principles, ideals and theology simply wouldn’t permit it. And what did those well-meaning, “principled” decisions give us? To name just a few:

    • Another liberal, pro-abortion, pro-gay marriage, legislating-from-the-bench Supreme Court Justice (and don’t forget, they serve for life).

    • The prolonging of Obamacare.

    • The reversing of 6000 years of Biblical marriage.

    • The further weakening of our military.

    • The emboldening and empowering of radical Islamist terrorism, including ISIS.

    • Through the leadership of an unhealed and divisive President, racial division that has set us back 40 years.

    • The accusing of more national debt than all past president’s COMBINED.
    We Christians need to take another look at the principles we allow to guide us at the polls! We’ve “principled” ourselves into irrelevance and, ironically, a national loss of Biblical principles. We must remember we are not electing a religious leader. And we will always be electing a flawed person to lead a flawed people. Unfortunately, the perfect candidate doesn’t exist.

    When voting, consider not just the candidate, but also the issues we face. Which candidate is going to make the decisions that are best for the whole nation? And whose policies more closely align with the Word of God?

    Here is my suggested list of the ideals we should allow to steer us when we vote (not including the obvious intangibles of intellect, wisdom, etc.):

    1) God-honoring. Does this person at least profess to believe in and honor God?

    2) The sanctity of life. Where does this candidate stand on abortion?

    3) The Supreme Court. What type of judges will this person appoint? At least 2 (and perhaps up to 5!) Supreme Court Justices will be appointed by the next President, which will tip the balance of power FOR DECADES. Life, morality, family, religious freedom, the Constitution and our very destiny as a nation are at stake. Reining in a renegade Supreme Court is of the utmost urgency.

    4) Family. Where does this individual stand on marriage and the family unit?

    5) America’s Judeo-Christian heritage. Does this candidate recognize, honor, and want to perpetuate this?

    6) Our military. In light of the tenuous state of affairs around the world, would this individual build our military or cut it and make us weaker?

    7) Limited government. Does this person believe government, higher taxes, and state-run programs are the solution to most problems; OR do they believe government should always be the last resort…and should be decreased in size?

    It is absolutely critical—indeed, in my opinion it is a sacred responsibility—that all Christians vote in this election, and that we vote for the person who most fulfills these qualifications. Remember that no one is perfect and that we are NOT endorsing everything about the person for whom we vote. But never again should we lose by default, giving further control of our nation to those with whom we disagree most and who stand in opposition to God.

    Never.

    Dutch Sheets
    Dutch Sheets Ministries
    Email: click here
    Website: http://www.dutchsheets.org

    Liked by 1 person

  2. While I appreciate your post, I have to agree with Dutch Sheets. When neither candidate in a presidential election is desirable, whatever the reasons, I have to settle on the issues supported by the Party platforms. I know others may disagree, but there is no way I can vote for a party that supports abortion, non-Biblical marriage, a weak military, questionable support for Israel, liberal Supreme Court Justices, and the list goes on. I agree that this could easily be a watershed election for our country. Certainly, the Republicans are not perfect, their platform, at least for now, espouses to support issues that are more in line with my values. In the end, we each must vote his/her conscience, but at least I pray we will vote!

    Like

  3. Dutch Sheets was the very kind of post I was trying to address. The only issues that you listed that I feel are absolutely Christian issues are abortion and support of Israel. I couldn’t care less who marries whom outside the church. Actually, I think anyone should have the right to get married where the government is concerned (obviously not children and whatnot). And as for abortion, the president cannot force abortions, but he or she can send our young people to slaughter, er, war. And those decisions in Trump’s control are frightening. What you call a weak military, I call using the military less haphazardly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

