What I Learned in My First Month Trying to Sell Books on Twitter

I signed up for Twitter long ago, but not until last month did I really start using it. I decided to make a concerted effort to get traffic to my blog and sell some books. My rise to fame would be earned one witty, kind, or well-hashtagged tweet at a time.

Here’s what I have learned this month.

Famous people don’t click on your profile.

If I say something witty enough on Steve Martin’s or Mindy Kaling’s page, they will comment or start following me and commenting on mine, right? Then they’ll wonder about my books. Then they’ll buy one. Then they’ll love it. Then they’ll tweet about it! Wrong. Some celebs don’t run their own Twitters, but those who do are too busy for me.

No one clicks on your blogs.

Unlike celebrities, regular people might click on your profile. Yay! However, they won’t go so far as to actually read one of your blogs. After my success on Facebook, I was a little surprised at this. I even watched the trending hashtags and yelled “I HAVE A BLOG ABOUT THAT” and tweeted it out quickly, before the hashtag stopped trending. No one has retweeted my blog yet. (Except my awesome friend Robin.)

People retweet the most random things.

After all my hashtagging and positive comments on people’s tweets, what gets retweeted? Some stupid hashtag game answer. Not even my best ones. Lame ones. Nothing about writing or the Bible or music or politics. “Girl put your jacket on #makeasongfreeze” or some such crap.

It takes longer than a month.

I have watched the impressions and clicks on all my tweets carefully. While I’ve had some profile clicks, I don’t think I can trace a single book sale back to Twitter. I was going to say that Twitter doesn’t work for selling books unless you’re already famous, but I guess I don’t have enough evidence to claim that. Maybe I suck at Twitter. Or more optimistically, maybe it just takes longer than a month.

UPDATE: A COUPLE WEEKS LATER, I HAVE AT LEAST FOUR CLICKS TO MY BLOG FROM TWITTER. NEXT MONTH FAME AND FORTUNE!

UPDATE #2: SIX MONTHS IN, PEOPLE HAVE RETWEETED MY BLOGS! I CAN ATTRIBUTE AT LEAST A FEW BOOKS SALES TO TWITTER! THIS TOOK OBSESSIVE STATS-WATCHING TO FIGURE OUT.

 

Leave a Reply

