Day 18: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

Continuing yesterday’s passage, Jesus, still talking about the kingdom, says, “For it is just like a man about to go on a journey, who called his own slaves, and entrusted his possessions to them. And to one he gave five talents, to another, two, and to another, one, each according to his own ability; and he went on his journey.”

Matthew 25; 14-15

The man who received the five talents (called minas, which were about $20) traded with his and earned five more. (Remember that guy who traded up from a paper clip to a house a few years ago?) The man who got two talents gained two more. But the man who had received one talent hid his away and still had only one when the master returned.

This passage challenges me. I always wonder if I am using what I have for the most possible profit for the kingdom. A few years ago, inspired by this parable, the pastor of our church gave each churchgoer five of his own dollars and challenged us to use them to make more money. I’m pretty sure I never thought of anything and came back to church with my original five dollars. I remember one woman bought ingredients for cookies and made a nice amount of money on them. She deserved to hear what the master in this parable said to the men who were given five and two talents.

“Well done, good and faithful slave; you were faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your master.”

Matthew 25:21 and 23

Unfortunately, I was more like the slave who hid away his talent so that at least he wouldn’t lose that.

“But his master answered and said to him, ‘You wicked, lazy slave, you knew that I reap where I did not sow, and gather where I scattered no seed. Then you ought to have put my money in the bank, and on my arrival I would have received my money back with interest. Therefore take away the talent from him, and give it to the one who has the ten talents. For to everyone who has shall more be given, and he shall have an abundance; but from the one who does not have, even what he does have shall be taken away. And cast out the worthless slave into the outer darkness; in that place there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.'”

This passage will be continued tomorrow. For now, let’s hope that I have done more with what I have now than my sad performance with the five dollars. It doesn’t have to be all about money either. We all have time and unique abilities. I leave you with this. The master entrusted his possessions to the slaves and appears to be coming back to collect his possessions, but instead he gives all that he had given to the slaves, plus what they had earned, back to the good and faithful.

I think my kingdom statement with which to replace my worries today will be USE YOUR TALENTS AND MONEY FOR THE KINGDOM. What will yours be?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

