Day 27: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

We just read 26 days of how to enter the kingdom: Like a child, repentantly, sacrificially, wholly, lovingly. I really wanted to throw in some of my favorite verses about heaven that don’t necessarily use the word “kingdom.” When you’re done with this short section (days 27-30) glance back at your previous kingdom statements. I bet it will be with renewed gratefulness for Jesus’s instructions on how to enter.

For today, we go to the first three chapters of Revelation, where John is on the island of Patmos “in the Spirit.” Jesus speaks to him, giving him a message to “the seven churches,” which are Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea. Jesus has messages for them about the things they’re doing wrong and the things they’re doing right which I did not include before these passages. I’m not trying to gloss over the things they’re told to repent of (please read the rest of these chapters some time!) but the purpose of this section is to tell you cool things about heaven, so here are some of His promises.

Ephesus

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will grant to eat of the tree of life, which is in the Paradise of God.” Revelation 2:7

Smyrna

“Do not fear what you are about to suffer. Behold, the devil is about to cast some of you into prison, that you may be tested, and you will have tribulation ten days. Be faithful until death, and I will give you the crown of life. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. He who overcomes shall not be hurt by the second death.” Revelation 2:10-11

Pergamum

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, to him I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, and a new name written on the stone which no one knows but he who receives it.” Revelation 2:17

Thyatira

“And he who overcomes, and he who keeps My deeds until the end, to him I will give authority over the nations; and he shall rule them with a rod of iron, as the vessels of the potter are broken to pieces, as I also have received authority from My Father; and I will give him the morning star.                                                                                         Revelation 2:26-28

Sardis

“He who overcomes shall thus be clothed in white garments; and I will not erase his name from the book of life, and I will confess his name before My Father, and before His angels.” Revelation 3:5

Philadelphia

“He who overcomes, I will make him a pillar in the temple of My God, and he will not go out from it anymore; and I will write upon him the name of My God, and the name of the city of My God, the new Jerusalem, which comes down out of heaven from My God, and My new name.”                                                                                                                           Revelation: 3:12

Laodicea

“He who overcomes, I will grant to him to sit down with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne.”                                         Revelation 3:21

Which of these promises would you anticipate most excitedly? Sharing a throne? Wow! I don’t know why, but it would give me a thrill to know my secret new name. What would that white stone say? And Jesus will have a new name too?! What will it be?

Keep wondering about all this! And think of a kingdom statement with which to replace your worry thoughts today.

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

