Day 28: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

Here’s day 2 of our 4 days of verses that don’t use the word “kingdom,” but do say comforting things about heaven. Jesus is at “the last supper.” He has just told his disciples that He’s giving them a new commandment—to love one another as He loved them—and said that they will seek Him but that where He is going they can’t come.

Simon Peter said to Him, “Lord, where are You going?” Jesus answered, “Where I go, you cannot follow Me now; but you shall follow later.” Peter said to Him, “Lord, why can I not follow You right now? I will lay down my life for you.” Jesus answered, “Will you lay down your life for me? Truly, truly, I say to you, a cock shall not crow, until you deny Me three times. Let not your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. And you know the way where I am going.” Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, how do we know the way?” Jesus said to Him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but through Me. If you had known Me, you would have known My Father also; from now on you know Him, and have seen Him.”

John 13:36-38, 14:1-7

I was surprised by what Jesus said after he told Peter “you will deny me.” Not “You have a lot to learn, Buster,” or “You’re not so great,” but “Let not your heart be troubled.” Thank you, Jesus!

Will heaven have my beloved redwood trees? Puffy white clouds? Lilac blossoms? I don’t know, but I do know that it won’t disappoint, and that Jesus not only prepared a way for us but is preparing a place for us. My requests based on what I love here on Earth would only limit heaven. It’s silly, but I picture Jesus making up a guest bed, and I don’t even know if we’ll sleep!

Thank you Jesus for making a way to the Father and for preparing a place for us.

What will be your kingdom statement or visual with which to replace your worries today?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

