Day 29: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

This is day 3 of our 4 days that don’t use the word “kingdom” but have very cool images of heaven.

Have you heard that there are no tears in heaven? Well, that’s almost true. It looks like we might have tears when we show up there, but then something wonderful will happen.

“He will swallow up death for all time, and the Lord God will wipe tears away from all faces…”

Isaiah 25:8a

“And I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, ‘Behold the tabernacle of God is among men, and He shall dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself shall be among them, and He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there shall no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.'”

Revelation 21:1-4

I have always thought that there being “no tears in heaven” meant that loved ones are not looking down on us like many people think, but I’ve never said so since believing that they are watching brings many comfort. My reasoning was “How could they look down at our sadnesses and not cry?” But time is different for God than for us (I’ll spare you that tangent although it’s a fun one) so now that I make the distinction between “no tears in heaven” and God wiping our tears, I will concede that maybe they look down on us before their tears are wiped.

At any rate, I’m so thankful to know that my tears will be wiped away and I’ll have no more pain or mourning or crying, and that God Himself will be among us. If I don’t get to meet you here, see you there!

What will your kingdom statement be today? Use it to replace your worry thoughts.

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

 

Leave a Reply

