Day 30: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

I have a recurring condition that makes my ear canals itchy. Very itchy. Nothing my doctor had me try worked. Once, after about 11 months of not being able to sleep or concentrate on anything but the itching, I told my doctor that I’d rather be dead.

He tried to set me up with psychiatry.

But, I told him, when you have read about heaven, it’s no wonder I’d rather be there! Here’s John’s revelation of it.

“And the material of the wall was jasper; and the city was pure gold, like clear glass. The foundation stones of the city wall were adorned with every kind of precious stone. The first foundation stone was jasper; the second, sapphire; the third, chalcedony; the fourth, emerald; the fifth, sardonyx; the sixth, sardius; the seventh, chrysolite; the eighth, beryl; the ninth, topaz; the tenth, chrysoprase; the eleventh, jacinth; the twelfth, amethyst. And the twelve gates were twelve pearls; each one of the gates was a single pearl. And the street of the city was pure gold, like transparent glass. And I saw no temple in it, for the Lord God, the Almighty, and the Lamb, are its temple. And the city has no need of the sun or of the moon to shine upon it, for the glory of God has illumined it and its lamp is the Lamb. And the nations shall walk by its light, and the kings of the earth shall bring their glory into it. And in the daytime (for there shall be no night there) its gates shall never be closed; and they shall bring the glory and the honor of the nations into it; and nothing unclean and no one who practices abominations and lying, shall ever come into it, but only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s book of life. And he showed me a river of the water of life, clear as crystal, coming from the throne of God and of the Lamb, in the middle of its street. And on either side of the river was the tree of life, bearing twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit every month; and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. And there shall no longer be any curse; and the throne of God and of the Lamb shall be in it, and His bond-servants shall serve Him; and they shall see His face, and His name shall be on their foreheads. And there shall no longer be any night; and they shall not have need of the light of a lamp nor the light of the sun, because the Lord God shall illumine them; and they shall reign forever and ever.”

Revelation 21:18-27, 22:1-5

I could end the day right there! Amazing! But here’s one of my favorite verses, and they complement each other so nicely.

I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.

Psalm 27:13

Today was our last of four days reading verses about the kingdom that don’t use the word “kingdom.” What will your kingdom statement be today? Use it to replace those worry thoughts!

M.L. Millard

P.S. If any of you are thinking “I have that same ear problem!” the answer was a dermatologist prescribing Elidel. She was hesitant, as it’s not usually for ear canals, but nothing else worked, and I’m very careful not to get it near my eardrums. I’m not a doctor. Don’t sue me if you try this and lose your hearing or something.

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

