Day 31: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

Days 31-37 are references to His Kingdom in the Old Testament. Most O.T. uses of the word “kingdom” refer to earthly kingdoms. The nation of Israel is God’s; He chose it and led it. However, if I put every mention of Israel in this book, I’d be typing pretty much the whole Bible.

So I chose the O.T. “kingdom” verses that I thought most appropriate for this study. Today is an extremely shortened version of the story of Israel in the O.T. God chose Abraham to be the father of His people. Later, His people wanted a king like other nations had. God finally gave them Saul, who didn’t work out so well. So God gave them David as a king. David was “a man after God’s own heart.”

Through the prophet Nathan, God said to David, “When your days are complete and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your descendant after you, who will come forth from you, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. I will be a father to him and he will be a son to Me; when he commits iniquity, I will correct him with the rod of men and the strokes of the sons of men, but My lovingkindness shall not depart from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you. And your house and your kingdom shall endure before Me forever; your throne shall be established forever.”

2 Samuel 7:12-16

David’s son Solomon inherited the kingdom, and God said to Solomon,

“And as for you, if you will walk before Me as your father David walked, in integrity of heart and uprightness, doing according to all that I have commanded you and will keep My statutes and My ordinances, then I will establish the throne of your kingdom over Israel forever, just as I promised to your father David, saying, ‘You shall not lack a man on the throne of Israel.’ But if you or your sons shall indeed turn away from following Me, and shall not keep my commandments and My statutes which I have set before you and shall serve other gods and worship them, then I will cut off Israel from the land which I have given them, and the house which I have consecrated for My name, I will cast out of My sight. So Israel will become a byword among the peoples.”

1 Kings 9:4-7

Later, Solomon was led astray by his wives, going after idols and such.

So the Lord said to Solomon, “Because you have done this, and you have not kept My covenant and My statutes, which I have commanded you, I will surely tear the kingdom from you, and will give it to your servant. Nevertheless I will not do it in your days for the sake of your father David, but I will tear it out of the hand of your son. However, I will not tear away all the kingdom, but I will give one tribe to your son for the sake of My servant David and for the sake of Jerusalem which I have chosen.”

I think my kingdom statement today will be something about how God has been trying to give us the kingdom for a long time. Earthly kings don’t seem to be able to handle ruling His kingdom, at least not for long, but lucky for us, someday we can be in a place where God is the only king. Won’t that be glorious! What statement will you use to replace your worry thoughts today?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

 

Leave a Reply

