Day 32: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

One of the best places for “kingdom” verses in the Old Testament is in the psalms, or songs. Psalm 22, a psalm of David, is the one Jesus was quoting when He said, “My God, my God, why hast Thou forsaken me?” on the cross. Jesus knew very well what the rest of the psalm said (doesn’t this make you want to read the whole thing?) and it does not end with forsakenness. Not only does it include predictions about the cross—pierced hands, clothing divided among his crucifiers—but it has this kingdom statement:

“All the ends of the earth will remember and turn to the Lord, and all the families of the nations will worship before Thee. For the kingdom is the Lord’s, and He rules over the nations.”

Psalm 22:27-28

Jesus was not only crying out to God, but He was reminding His followers, who knew their scripture and so would have known the rest of this psalm, that the kingdom is God’s.

I’m ashamed of how many of life’s situations have left me worried, or sad, or angry, and so filled with these thoughts that I completely forgot that the kingdom is the Lord’s. Some people forget about God when their life is going great, and come running back to Him when they need help, but I’m the type who praises Him when my life is great and then loses perspective when things get tough. Do you fit into one of those categories?

I hope that if I remember the phrase THE KINGDOM IS THE LORD’S today, it will come back to me when I need perspective or I’m tempted to worry. Will this be your kingdom statement today, too?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

