Day 40: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

But when they believed Philip preaching the good news about the kingdom of God and the name of Jesus Christ, they were being baptized, men and women alike.

Acts 8:12

Do you believe the good news about the kingdom of God and the name of Jesus Christ? That Jesus gave his life to give you eternal life? Then the next step is baptism!

In my early twenties I asked my pastor if he would baptize me even though my parents had had me baptized when I was little. He said he’d be happy to, even though he didn’t think it was necessary, since I did believe and I had been baptized. I still felt like I wanted to do it when it was my own choice. So at our annual church picnic I got in that unheated pool and Pastor Al tipped me back. I was so glad I did it!

The pastor I have now feels that it is important to be baptized after you’ve made the choice yourself. Both pastors were very knowledgeable about the Bible. I respect them both. Baptism is yet another subject that could take us off on a book-length tangent. However, the Bible definitely does NOT say that if you were baptized as a baby you shouldn’t do it again as an adult. What’s your baptism story?

Don’t forget to make a kingdom statement with which to replace your worries today!

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

2 thoughts on “Day 40: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

Leave a Reply

