Day 48: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

I used to have a lot of nightmares. One night as I got ready for bed, I prayed for peace in my dreams. That night I dreamed that I went to church and Tom, an elder at the church, told me to keep coming to worship team rehearsals on Thursday nights. The strange thing was that the word he said wasn’t “Thursday,” but a word that somehow meant Wednesday and Thursday. He also handed me an envelope that had the name of a colonel on it. “Col.” somethingrather. The name made no sense to me in the dream. I said “Who’s this Colonel person?”

When I awoke, I knew that Col. didn’t mean colonel at all. It was the abbreviation for Colossians, and something in the book of Colossians would bring me peace. “Col.” had even been written on an envelope, and the book of Colossians is a letter addressed to the Colossian people from Paul. I even wonder if the “colonel’s” name was actually chapter and verse numbers and that’s why I couldn’t make sense of it in the dream.

As for the Wednesday/Thursday thing, I didn’t think much of it until a couple weeks later when our worship leader announced that worship rehearsals would be moving from Thursday to Wednesday nights. God covered all the details. He knew that I would have extra assurance that the dream was from Him when rehearsals moved to Wednesdays. Staying on the worship team brought me much peace over the years, and it’s pretty neat to feel like God gave me special instructions on what to read.

Incidentally, I stopped having so many nightmares when I started drinking a little water before bed.

I paid special attention to the word “peace” in the book of Colossians since that’s what I had prayed about, but Colossians also has a verse with the word “kingdom” in it.

For this reason also, since the day we heard of it, we have not ceased to pray for you and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that you may walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please Him in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in power, according to His glorious might, for the attaining of all steadfastness and patience; joyously giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. For He delivered us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption of sins.

Col. 1:9-14

What will be your kingdom statement with which to replace your worries today?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

