Day 58: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

Well, Friends, we’re nearly finished. We have read almost every verse about His kingdom. In our first 57 days together I think I only deviated (significantly) from what I’d written in the book version on two days. Today I do so again. I wrote the book version in 2014, long before the crazy election we just had. Long before I marched. Our worries have changed, but the nature of worry hasn’t changed. The nature of God hasn’t changed. God’s prescription for worry hasn’t changed.

I hope that our voices are heard. I hope that our checks and balances check and balance. But I don’t trust in those things. I trust in God.

That’s what I wanted to say instead of explaining the context of today’s verses. I present them here and trust God’s Spirit to say much more than I ever could about them.

And [Jesus] was saying to them, “Truly I say to you, there are some of those who are standing here who shall not taste death until they see the kingdom of God after it has come with power.”

Mark 9:1

“Truly I say to you, there are some of those who are standing here who shall not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in His kingdom.”

Matthew 16:28

Now having been questioned by the Pharisees as to when the kingdom of God was coming, He answered them and said, “The kingdom of God is not coming with signs to be observed, nor will they say, ‘Look, here it is! or, ‘There it is!’ For behold, the kingdom of God is in your midst.” 

Luke 17:20-21

What kingdom truth will you replace your worries with today?

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

