Day 60: Seeking First His Kingdom (61 days of worry-free devotions)

When Jesus was talking to Pilate (basically His trial) He said:

My kingdom is not of this world. If My kingdom were of this world, then My servants would be fighting, that I might not be delivered up to the Jews; but as it is, My kingdom is not of this realm.”

John 18:36

Jesus had stopped Peter from using his sword (18:11) when the officers from the chief priests and Pharisees had come for Him, because He knew it was His destiny to die for us.

Tangent alert. In theory, I extend this to mean that I should be a pacifist. Many don’t. In practice, one time I saw a young man knock down an older woman as he tried to rip her diamond necklace off of her neck, and if I had been close enough I knew I would have kicked his feet out from under him and tackled him. To be sure, there are other verses that lean toward pacifism, too, like not casting the first stone, loving and blessing your enemies…

But back to the only clear meaning. Jesus could have had his servants fight to save Him. Indeed, many of them at first expected Him to try to set up and rule a kingdom here on Earth at that time. Instead, He went willingly to the cross.

Amazing.

What kingdom statement will you use to replace your worries today? I think mine will be HIS KINGDOM IS NOT OF THIS WORLD.

M.L. Millard

*New American Standard Bible verses used in the book version of this devotional with permission from The Lockman Foundation.

Leave a Reply

